Four Players That Deserve to Win 2016 NFL MVP

The National Football League season is coming to a close. There are still many players in contention for NFL MVP race. However, there are really only about four players that really deserve the MVP title.

Four Players That Deserve to Win 2016 NFL MVP

2016 NFL MVP
EAST RUTHERFORD, NJ – DECEMBER 11: Dak Prescott #4 of the Dallas Cowboys hikes the ball against the New York Giants during the first quarter of the game at MetLife Stadium on December 11, 2016 in East Rutherford, New Jersey. (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)

Dak Prescott

Dak Prescott Quarterback Dallas Cowboys: Prescott has amazed everyone in the NFL this season. The fourth round pick out of Mississippi State University became the team’s starting quarterback after Tony Romo broke a bone in his back. Not many gave him a chance starting this season, even after he shined in the preseason.

After an opening loss to the New York Giants, Prescott has led Dallas to 11 wins in their last 12 games. Despite the loss to the Giants on Sunday Night Football last night, Dak has shown maturity beyond his years. Has a ridiculous 19 to four touchdown to interception ratio. Not to mention, is the leader of a time that has already clinched a playoff birth. While he doesn’t deserve all of the credit, he is a huge part of their success.

Ezekiel Elliot

Ezekiel Elliot running back, Dallas Cowboys: Even before April’s NFL Draft, everyone knew what a great running back Elliot was. He’s proved that and then some this season. He leads the league in rushing by a wide margin (1,392) and is in contention for many awards. When Zeke runs, he is like a hot knife through butter. He just cuts through all opposing defenses and bursts to the end zone. He is seemingly unstoppable.

Tom Brady

Tom Brady quarterback, New England Patriots: Many will probably make the argument that Brady does not deserve the MVP, because he has not played the entire season. Since he was suspended for the first four games of the season due to the deflated footballs scandal. However, the MVP award isn’t based on how many games a player plays. It is based on their performance in the games they do play.

Tom Brady’s play at QB once again has the Patriots as Super Bowl favorites. So far this season, Brady has thrown for 2,876 yards and 22 touchdowns. Had he played the whole season, he would certainly have added to those totals. He showed in the Monday Night Football game against the Baltimore Ravens that he still what makes the Patriots tick. Even at his advanced age, Brady continues to put on stellar performances.

Matt Ryan

Matt Ryan quarterback, Atlanta Falcons: Ryan has been succeeding under the radar. He has quietly shown the NFL why he should be in the MVP race. He has thrown for an outstanding 30 touchdowns to just seven interceptions. Ryan has also led his team to an 8-5 record as of this writing and they are currently tied atop the NFC South with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. If the Falcons continue to win and make the playoffs, Ryan should be in serious consideration for MVP.


Scroll to Top